Close this search box.

Table of Contents

Series 65


The Series 65, also known as the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination, is an exam that is designed to qualify candidates as investment adviser representatives. It is administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). It covers topics like laws, regulations, ethics, and various aspects of financial advising, such as portfolio management and retirement planning.


The phonetics of the keyword “Series 65” is: /ˈsɪə.riːz ˈsɪksˈfaɪv/

Key Takeaways

  1. The Series 65 exam is a certification test for those aiming to become investment advisor representatives.
  2. The exam covers topics like laws, regulations, ethics, and various aspects of investment, such as portfolio management or retirement planning.
  3. The Series 65 exam consists of 130 multiple-choice questions and candidates must answer 94 questions correctly to pass.


The Series 65, or the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination, is an important term in business/finance because it is a qualification exam administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) for individuals who aspire to provide investment advice for a fee within the United States. It’s designed to measure the competency of an entry-level investment adviser by testing their knowledge about topics like laws, regulations, ethics, and various types of securities and investment strategies. This certification is critical in establishing the credibility and professional standing of financial advisors, and is considered the standard by which proficiency, and understanding of the investment advising industry, is determined. Therefore, successfully passing the Series 65 exam is a significant milestone for professionals in the finance industry, allowing them to legally provide financial advice and handle client’s investments.


The Series 65 is an exam and subsequent license primarily aimed at individuals wanting to provide clients with investment advice. Its larger purpose is to protect potential investors from poorly informed or ethically compromised advisors. To achieve this, the exam tests the candidate’s competency and understanding of a diverse range of topics associated with investment. These topics include retirement planning, portfolio management strategies, fiduciary responsibilities, laws, regulations, and ethics in investment advice. Therefore, obtaining a Series 65 license is indicative of a solid understanding of investing principles and guidelines, inspiring greater trust and confidence in potential clients. The Series 65 license permits individuals to act as investment advisors in many states, without any requirement to associate with a brokerage firm. This license is used by individuals who provide advice on securities for a fee, not commission, and who manage the investments of others. Often, holders of this license end up working in positions such as financial advisors, financial planners, or wealth managers where they provide advice specific to their client’s investment goals and needs. In essence, the Series 65 is a necessary differentiator for those aiming to establish their dedication and competence in the investment advice field.


1. Investment Advisery Business: As per the USA regulations, a person who wants to start an investment advisor business needs to pass the Series 65 exam. This ensures they have understanding of investing principles, securities laws, ethical conduct, and fiduciary obligations. 2. Financial Advisers in Brokerage Firms: In many brokerage firms, financial advisors are required to hold a Series 65 license. The license verification indicates to their clients that they are knowledgeable and qualified to give investing advice and can deal with complex financial scenarios. 3. Compliance Role in Financial Institutions: Compliance or regulatory professionals in financial institutions often must hold a Series 65 license to demonstrate their understanding of federal securities laws and regulations. Providing counsel to a business regarding these matters without the license may lead to legal difficulties for both the professional and the business.

Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

What is Series 65?
Series 65 is a securities license required by most U.S. states for individuals who act as investment advisors. It’s officially known as the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination.2.
Who needs the Series 65 license?
The Series 65 license is required for individuals who provide clients with financial advice or manage their investment portfolios. If you wish to become a Registered Investment Advisor (RIA), you typically need this license.3.
What does the Series 65 exam cover?
The Series 65 exam tests individuals on topics related to investing, finance, laws, and ethics. This includes areas such as portfolio management, retirement planning, fiduciary responsibilities, and taxation.4.
How many questions are on the Series 65 exam?
The Series 65 exam consists of 130 multiple-choice questions. 10 of these questions are pretest questions and are not scored. 5.
How long is the Series 65 exam?
You will be allowed up to 180 minutes to complete the Series 65 exam.6.
What is the passing score for the Series 65?
The passing score for the Series 65 exam is 94 correct answers out of 130 questions, which equates to about 72%.7.
How do I study for the Series 65 exam?
It is recommended to use the study materials provided by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) and to leverage other respected financial education providers. The exam requires a firm understanding of financial concepts, laws, and ethical considerations.8.
How do I register for the Series 65 exam?
The Series 65 exam can be registered for via the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority’s (FINRA) website. The exam is administered by the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA).9.
Can I retake the Series 65 exam if I fail?
Yes, if you do not pass the Series 65 exam, you may retake it, but you must wait at least 30 days before you can do so. 10.
Is the Series 65 the same as the Series 66?
No, they are not the same. The Series 65 exam covers laws, regulations, ethics, and various financial topics, while the Series 66 combines the content of the Series 63 and Series 65 exams. However, to take the Series 66 exam, you must have already passed the Series 7 exam.

Related Finance Terms

Sources for More Information

About Due

Due makes it easier to retire on your terms. We give you a realistic view on exactly where you’re at financially so when you retire you know how much money you’ll get each month. Get started today.

Due Fact-Checking Standards and Processes

To ensure we’re putting out the highest content standards, we sought out the help of certified financial experts and accredited individuals to verify our advice. We also rely on them for the most up to date information and data to make sure our in-depth research has the facts right, for today… Not yesterday. Our financial expert review board allows our readers to not only trust the information they are reading but to act on it as well. Most of our authors are CFP (Certified Financial Planners) or CRPC (Chartered Retirement Planning Counselor) certified and all have college degrees. Learn more about annuities, retirement advice and take the correct steps towards financial freedom and knowing exactly where you stand today. Learn everything about our top-notch financial expert reviews below… Learn More